top of page
SCF Logo_Page_1.jpg

Welcome to the

Scientific Caribbean Foundation, Inc.

  Candidate for Sacnas Board of Director

Screen Shot 2019-11-13 at 4.29.15 PM.png

Dr. Juan F. Arratia, Founder and President, Scientific Caribbean Foundation, Inc.



Institution.                                                                             Field                                                                   Degree/Year

Universidad Técnica del Estado, Chile                 Electrical Engineering.                                                         B.S.     1973

Louisiana Tech University, Ruston                         Electrical Engineering                                                         M.S.     1979

Washington University, St. Louis                            Electrical Engineering                                                         Ph.D.   1985


Institution                                                                             Position                                                                        Date

Scientific Caribbean Foundation, Inc.                          Founder and President                                               2014-Present           

Ana G. Mendez University System                               Execujtive Director                                                      2008-2018           

US Grant-UNICA-Puerto Rico Alliance                         Director                                                                       2015-2016

NSF Grant-Arecibo Observatory                                  Co-PI, Deputy Director                                                2011-2013

NSF Grant-MRI-AMISR                                                 Principal Investigator                                                  2010-2018

NSF Grant-MRI-Puerto Rico Laser                                Principal Investigator                                                  2010-2013

NSF Grant-CCCE                                                          Principasl Investigator                                                2009-2014

NSF Grant-AGMUS Institute of Mathematics                Principal Investigator                                                  2008-2015

NSF Grant- MIE                                                             Principal Investigator                                                  1998-2008

University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez, PR                     Adjunct Professor                                                        1989-1995

Arratia & Associates                                                      Founder and President                                               1988-1998

Medtronic, Inc.                                                              Manager, Adv. Manufacturing Technology                  1987-1988

Inter American Univ., San Germán, PR                         Visiting  Professor                                                        1986-1997

Academia/Manufacturing Industry                                Consultant                                                                   1986-1997

Universidad Técnica del Estado, Chile                         Instructor – Professor                                                   1973-1986

Instructor – Professor


Fulbright Scholar-India                                                  2016

US Presidential Award – PAESMEN                              2006

Organization of American States Fellowship                1982-1984

Rotary International Graduate Fellowship                     1978-1979

American Field Service Scholarship                             1966-1967       


UNICA-Puerto Rico Alliance, US State Department, $25,000, 2015-2016. Management & Operations of the Arecibo, NSF/SRI International, $51.19 million, 2011-2017.  MRI-Puerto Rico Laser, NSF, $0.85 million 2010-2013. MRI-AMISR, NSF, $2.30 million 2010-2018. Caribbean Computing Center for Excellence, NSF, $2.35 million, 2009-2014. Pre-College Research Institute, PRSGC-NASA/UPR, $13,500, 2009. AGMUS Institute of Mathematics, NSF, $2.16 million, 2008-2015. Arecibo Observatory, NSF/Cornell University, $249,998, 2008-2010. Pre-College Research Institute, PRSGC-NASA/UPR, $28,800, 2008-2009. PAESMEM- US Presidential Award, NSF, $10,000, 2008-2010. Model Institutions for Excellence (MIE) (Phase III), NSF, $2.95 million, 2004-2008. Fulbright Scholar-in-Residence Program, IIE, $120,000, 2004-2005. MIE (Phase II), NSF, $7.50 million, 1998-2003. REU in Astronomical Sciences (Chile), NSF, $20,000, 2002-2003. Outreach Prog. in Atmospheric Sciences, NSF – Supplement, $27,000, 2002-2003. Planning visit to China and Japan, NSF – Supplement, $4,423, 2002-2203. Biomedical Development at UMET, NIEHS, $998,200, 2001-2005. D.D. Eisenhower Math & Science Educ., Dept. of Education, $30,000, 1993

bottom of page